CR 12-007

STATE OF WISCONSIN
DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND PROFESSIONAL SERVICES

IN THE MATTER OF RULE-MAKING : ORDER OF THE
PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE : DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY
DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND . AND PROFESSIONAL SERIVICES
PROFESSIONAL SERVICE : ADOPTING RULES

(CLEARINGHOUSE RULE NUMBER 12-007)

The Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services proposes an order to repeal
SPS 305.02 Table 305.02 lines 50r. to 50t., SPS 305.06 Table 305.06 lines 45r. to 45t., SPS 305.125
(3m), SPS 305.74to 305.743 relating to thermal insulator credentials.
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Analysis of Rule
1. Statutes Interpreted

Statutes Interpreted: ss. 101.02 (1), 227.10 (1) and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats.

2. Statutory Authority

Statutory Authority: ss. 101.02 (1), 227.10 (1) and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats.

3. Related Statute or Rule

None

4. Explanation of Agency Authority

Under 2009 Wisconsin Act 16, s. 101.136, Stats., on and after July 1, 2011, only individuals
licensed as insulation mechanics or working under the supervision of licensed insulation
mechanics may install or maintain thermal system insulation. Thermal insulation was
statutorily defined as a product that is used in a heating, ventilating, cooling, plumbing or
refrigeration system to insulate any hot or cold surface, including a pipe, duct, valve, boiler,
flue, ortank, or equipment on or in a building. Act 16 direct the department (then, the
Department of Commerce) to implement these credentialing rules which the department did
under Clearinghouse Rule number 11-090. Subsequently, 2011 Wisconsin Act 32 repealed s.
101.136, Stats.



5. Plain Language Analysis

The proposed rules repeal the credentialing procedures established for thermal system
insulators under s. 101.136, Stats., as mandated under 2009 Wisconsin Act 16. The proposed
rules eliminate the credentials for thermal insulation mechanics, thermal insulation apprentices
and thermal insulator helpers, under section SPS 305.741, 305.742 and 305.743.

6. Summary of, and Comparison with, Existing or Proposed Federal Regulations
An internet search on U.S. federal regulations and U.S. federal register yielded no results
regarding the licensing of thermal insulators.

7. Comparison with Rules in Adjacent States
An Internet-based search of thermal insulation mechanic licenses in the states of Illinois, lowa,
Michigan and Minnesota found that none of the states have specific rules or programs
regarding these types of licenses.

8. Summary of Factual Data and Analytical Methodologies
The proposed rules were developed in light of 2011 Wisconsin Act 32 which repealed s.
101.136, Stats.

9. Analysis and Supporting Documents used to Determine Effect on Small Business or in

Preparation of Economic Impact Analysis
The proposed rule action follows the direction provided by 2011 Wisconsin Act 32 in repealing
s. 101.136, Stats., and therein, eliminating the mandate for thermal insulator credentials.

10. Effect on Small Business
Originally, it was estimated that the credential rules implemented pursuant to 2009 Wisconsin
Act 16 regarding thermal insulators would most likely affect HVAC contractors, plumbing
contractors, and mechanical refrigeration contractors. Fees for the various credentials ranged
from $15 for apprentices and helpers to $250 for mechanics. In light of the 2011 Wisconsin
Act 32, the thermal insulator credentials were not implemented and the associated fees not
collected.

11. Agency Contact

James Quast, Program Manager, jim.quast@wi.gov, (608) 266-9292



12. Public Hearing Comments

The hearing record on this rule will remain open until February 20, 2012. Written comments on
the proposed may be submitted to James Quast, at the Department of Commerce, P.O. Box 2689,
Madison, WI 53701-2689, or Email at jim.quast@wi.gov.
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SECTION 1. SPS 305.02 Table 305.02 lines 50r. to 50t. are repealed.

SECTION 2. SPS 305.06 Table 305.06 lines 45r. to 45t. are repealed.

SECTION 3. SPS 305.125 (3m) is repealed.

SECTION 4. SPS 305.74 to 305.743 are repealed.

SECTION 5. This rule shall take effect on the first day of the month following publication in the
Wisconsin Administrative Register as provided in s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats.

The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on the first day of the month following publication in
the Wisconsin administrative register, pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats.

Dated Agency
Secretary
DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND PROFESSIONAL
SERVICES



